Okay, Okay, Okay!

Musings on life, retirement, and living abroad

Christiana White
Fourth Wave

--

I’m here. And I’m supposed to tell my story.

One of the hardest things about writing, for me, is organization. I have a strange sort of twinned problem of having nothing to write about and far, far too much to write about.

Sometimes, ideas fly at me, but they’re barely ideas. They’re images, glimmerings, notions. They’re fleeting, and they appear to have no relation to one another, and I don’t know what to do with them, how to pin them down, or what-not.

Sometimes, I read a writer who is so free, and I think, ah, there it is. You don’t have to have anything to write about. Just write. Let the writing take you there. I just listened to The Staple Singers’ “I’ll Take You There,” and boy do they ever.

Where is there? I mean, to a place, a feeling, where “ain’t nobody cryin’.” In this case, a groove. That’s the power of music. Mavis does it with very few words. A few repeated phrases, some sexy, guttural incantations, a call for mercy and a few “Daddy, Daddys” (not that kind…

--

--