Self Doubt and Saggy Boobs

Why can’t I stop second-guessing the way my body looks? Not all boobs are shaped like, well like this (o)(o)

Autumn Karen
Fourth Wave

--

Image credit: Autumn Karen

Body positivity ain’t easy. We all know this, but then I feel like I’m supposed to somehow be past the point of needing to hear it so much. I’m an enlightened, breast-owning person with a bunch of degrees and a heap of folks telling me that I’m beautiful and sexy just the way I am.

So why the hell am I still self-conscious about my boobs?

It’s absolutely ridiculous. I see the pic above of me on my recent birthday weekend, sitting on a rock in the middle of the Dan River soaking my feet and laughing with my partner, and I immediately notice how crappy I feel like my chest looks. If I’d just have arched my back a little, I would have looked a lot more instagrammable. Maybe I should have worn a bra for a sweaty day paddling instead of hanging free and comfortable.

What the actual hell me, that’s a great memory and one of the best days ever. Don’t tarnish it with negativity about your body.

Below is one of my headshots from a couple of years ago. I look fire in this pic. I also had a makeup make artist, a hairstylist, a coach standing there telling me how to stand, plus a professional photographer getting the angle just…

--

--

Autumn Karen
Fourth Wave

Writer | Ghostwriter | Single Mama. I teach college students to write other folks’ words & internet folks to finish what they start. autumnkaren.com