Suffering is Not Our Cultural Trait!

Iran’s populace yearns for freedom

Zee the snail
Fourth Wave
5 min readSep 4, 2023

--

Raghs-isfahan:Persian Women dancing. From a wall painting at “Hasht Behesht Palace
Raghs-Isfahan: Persian women dancing. From a wall painting at Hasht Behest Palace

There was a time when I contemplated changing my life and seeking personal development in another part of the world, which unlike my country was not a veritable hell for people. I took an English exam, translated my educational qualifications, employment history, and resume, and subsequently received acceptance from a Canadian university for a master’s degree. I presented my financial documents to the Canadian government as proof of my financial capacity and made every effort to convince the Canadian immigration office that I had no intention of becoming a refugee in their country.

In total, I submitted my application for a temporary student visa to the Canadian Immigration Department three times, and all three times, they denied my visa application. The primary reason for their refusal was the immigration officer’s skepticism about my intention to return to my home country after completing my studies. Meanwhile, my friend, who had a less impressive resume than mine but possessed more substantial financial assets, managed to secure entry into Canada.

Last year was a tough year for me. I navigated through these bureaucratic hurdles while my home country was engulfed in a full-scale war between an authoritarian government and a populace yearning for freedom. This conflict resulted in numerous casualties and arrests. The government even resorted to blinding individuals with bullets for daring to raise their voices for freedom in the streets.

In total, I submitted my application for a temporary student visa to the Canadian Immigration Department three times, and all three times, they denied my visa application.

As people fought on the front lines, I reluctantly stayed on the sidelines, knowing that my plans for a potential future in another country required me to be cautious. Internet access was limited, as the government sought to prevent disseminating news, photos, and voices beyond our borders. They aimed to suppress reports of the widespread protests throughout various cities and villages, as we all understood that courage could be contagious.

Meanwhile, I struggled to upload my documents to Canada’s administration’s website. The process took days due to the unreliable internet connection. Since Canada lacked an embassy in Iran, my husband and I had to travel to neighboring Turkey for fingerprinting. Our journey coincided with the most tumultuous days in Iran’s streets. The police in my country had recently killed a girl simply because she had not fully covered her hair, while the Turkish people danced freely on Istiklal Street, near my homeland’s border. They reveled in their favorite attire and songs. Witnessing their joy, I found myself shedding tears for an hour in Taksim Square — a cry of regret and helplessness, a cry of comparison, and a cry for the normal life denied to me and all Iranians.

Street Musicians in Istanbul from Citizen on Earth

A few weeks ago, my friend’s sister-in-law, who had traveled to Canada on a tourist visa, applied for asylum. According to her lawyer, this was an entirely reasonable request, given that the Canadian government understands the harsh consequences Iranian women face if they refuse to wear the Islamic hijab — punishments that include imprisonment, curfews, denial of education, and job opportunities. This plight threatens thousands of Iranian women within our borders, but it goes unrecognized by Canada or any other free nation as long as we remain in our homeland. Legal recognition and the potential for lifelong acceptance, as well as financial and spiritual support from these countries, only become a reality once we set foot on their soil.

Witnessing their joy, I found myself shedding tears for an hour in Taksim Square — a cry of regret and helplessness, a cry of comparison, and a cry for the normal life denied to me and all Iranians.

As Iranian women who battle the dictator within our cities, villages, schools, and universities, our suffering is dismissed in the eyes of the world because they simply say: “It is their culture” That is not true! Human rights activists express regret for the loss of our loved ones in the news, at best, and issue mere condemnations. These words have become a bitter joke for us, evoking both sadness and tears.

Doesn’t this reveal the ultimate hypocrisy and shamelessness of free governments? Doesn’t this narrative underscore the ineffectiveness of human rights organizations to the fullest extent?

Why must I, an Iranian, provide the same concise and formal explanation for my trip to Canada and my intention to return, akin to a Swiss, German, or French woman, for instance? Factors such as inflation, political corruption, stifling repression, the cancellation of the IELTS exam in my country, and the grim news of killings and protests surely make my circumstances exceptional. If these conditions are not unique, why do Canadian immigration officials repeatedly deny temporary visas to numerous Iranians who fail to satisfy them about their intent to return home?

As Iranian women who battle the dictator within our cities, villages, schools, and universities, our suffering is dismissed in the eyes of the world because they simply say: “It is their culture” That is not true!

Allow me to clarify; We, the people of Iran, do not seek charity or sympathy. We simply desire to be seen as equals. We are weary of free countries’ governments cooperating with our oppressors, channeling money into their coffers to secure the release of their reckless citizens who ventured to travel to a place like Iran. Furthermore, we recognize that these governments played a role in supporting the Iranian rebels who were in the minority during the Pahlavi era, thereby ushering in the rule of the mullahs in Tehran. Now they feign neutrality towards our plight.

History will bury us, just like millions of other victims. However, remember this: it was not our Eastern culture that brought us to this point; it has a name, and that name is “injustice.”

Living under the shadow of dictators’ flags, with the threat of violence ever-present, is painful enough. As an Iranian woman, I implore all of you who read these words and reside in free countries to urge your governments to cease their double standards. Do not turn a blind eye to our suffering. We cannot all become refugees numbering in the tens of millions. We deserve the right to freedom and a normal life within our borders, to possess valid passports. If you fail to come to our aid, refuse to acknowledge our suffering, and continue to cooperate with our oppressors, there will be no consequences for you. History will bury us, just like millions of other victims. However, remember this: it was not our Eastern culture that brought us to this point; it has a name, and that name is “injustice.”

For more of the good stuff, follow Fourth Wave. Have you got a story, essay, or poem that focuses on women or other challenged groups? Submit to the Wave!

--

--

Zee the snail
Fourth Wave

I am one of the million hostages. Read my bottle letters.