POETRY | FOURTH WAVE PROMPT

The Beginning of the End

Ending our era

Edward Swafford
Fourth Wave
Published in
2 min readJun 14, 2024

--

A woman of Asian descent with dark hair stares in a close-up shot. She’s wearing a black wide-brimmed hat, slanted down over her left eye, and her outfit is black.
MOURNING A MIRAGE? Image by 湉双 陈 from Pexels.

My open mouth meets yours, a sobriquet
show of warring tongues and telling lips
lies and lust engulf our swallowed scenes
warming your skin, a gloried luminosity
CLASP my waist with your halcyon hands
you taste like her pulchritude, yet you’re
L
_I
__C
___K
____I
_____N
______G
my navel, triple the tempo, saliva entrails
trickling down a precious neck you once
adorned with love-bitten, ravened, l-o-v-e
a resounding pull me closer as bare chests
collide, backs plumb, look me in my envy
eyes and tell me it’s over?

The mind of beseeched bisexuality in bilk
something I’ll never understand, how you
tick and tock like a thespian performing
in secret for me shh, under salient lucent
light she basks in your glow unbeknownst
to truth, to us, voyaging to
E
_T
__E
___R
____N
_____I
______T
_______Y
with slips and sliding caresses of…

--

--

Edward Swafford
Fourth Wave

I’m an Australian poet, healthcare professional, and copywriter. I write about spirituality, tech, aged care, mental health, family, and relationships ⚡️.