The Cost of Being a Woman

Add a “pink tax” to the other gender-based burdens women bear

Ashley Kettenring
Fourth Wave
3 min readJan 26, 2024

--

Photo by Omid Armin on Unsplash

In January of 2023, legislation in California forbade the imposition of elevated prices on products targeted at a specific gender. The legislation specifically targets charging higher prices for items marketed towards women, commonly called the “Pink Tax.” This new prohibition in California extends the reach of the state’s current laws against discriminatory pricing based on gender, mirroring a comparable law in New York that became effective in September 2020.

It literally costs more money to dress for work as a woman though we still make less than men

The “pink tax” is better known as gender-based pricing. It’s not a tax but a markup on gender-based products, specifically women’s. Everyday products targeted at women frequently carry a heftier price tag than nearly identical versions aimed at men. Notable instances of this pricing discrepancy include elevated costs for pink razors and pens in pastel hues. Even toys marketed towards girls often bear higher price tags. To illustrate, a pink Radio Flyer scooter was being sold at twice the price of its comparable red counterpart on a prominent big-box retailer’s website.
According to the NYCDCA report, women’s products consistently have higher pricing across various industry categories. On average, women’s products were priced 7 percent higher than substantially similar products marketed towards men. To maintain basic grooming and hygiene levels as a woman, you are required to pay more.

I am blessed to work in a place with a lax attire requirement, but as a working female, I still have to put myself together every day while my male counterparts can roll out of bed. I have a one-year-old son, so my hair and makeup routine is minimal, but the products I use are costly. My CVS/store-bought shampoo and conditioner: $40. The balm I use so my hair isn’t a frizzled, curly nightmare: $12 for less than 12 oz. Without getting into my TikTok skincare routine, here is a list of products I use to make me look not tired. Cleanser: $12, Night Cream Moisturizer: $20, Vitamin C Serum: $20, SPF Cream: $10, “Glow” Serum: $40, Foundation and Concealer Stick: $40, Mascara: $12, Eyebrow Pencil: $8. I also occasionally color my hair, which costs $300. While I was nursing my son I became more conscious of what I put on my body so I started buying aluminum-free deodorant for $20. All of these prices are definitely on the lower end of the high cost of female products, but consider the fact that I still make less than my male coworker who spends little to look appropriate at work.

It costs more money to dress for work as a woman though we still make less than men. Regarding the gender pay gap, women earn 77 cents for every dollar men earn. The consequences of the wage gap are undeniably unfair. This disparity means that women have less discretionary income for goods and services, increasing the financial burden of the pink tax. Unfortunately, the financial strain imposed by the pink tax often goes unnoticed. But this concealed surcharge embedded in every purchase can accumulate to thousands of dollars over a year. The clandestine nature of the pink tax makes it challenging to combat effectively.

Now, I ask you: does the wonder of being a woman sufficiently offset the financial inequality based on gender? Should mothers, who often face workplace prejudices, be entitled to additional compensation? Let me know your thoughts.

For more of the good stuff, follow Fourth Wave. Have you got a story or poem that focuses on women or other disempowered groups? Submit to the Wave!

--

--

Ashley Kettenring
Fourth Wave

Ashley is a a devoted mother, accomplished architectural designer, and passionate advocate for women's equality in the workplace.