POETRY | PAIN | TRAUMA

We’ve Been Shattered Enough, What’s One More?

The heart knows: a poem

Pragya Chaturvedi
Fourth Wave

--

I’ve looked at enough scars

to know that black and blue skin of yours

carries a secret along,

it has a story to tell.

we’ve just met,

but i can look at all your scars

and i watch you look at mine.

silence echoes,

you wanted to ask me

about the fresh wound

in the chambers of my heart,

and i craved to talk to your bruises.

but we stood quiet.

i wanted to run away from this world,

you wanted to run away from reality

i wanted to run away from my past,

you were too scared to run towards the future.

you looked into my eyes,

and I stared back.

I stared back,

and found my old friends there,

grief and guilt.

you’re one of us”,

i smiled with tears in my eyes.

time stopped,

all we wanted to do

was survive.

it was cold and quiet,

i could hear your loud thoughts

and you could hear my heart pounding.

i skipped a heart beat,

and gave to you my hand to hold.

“we’ve been shattered enough…”

i told my heart,

“what’s one more?”

  • Pragya Chaturvedi

For more creative pieces, follow Fourth Wave. Have you got a story, essay, or poem that focuses on heart break? Submit to the Wave!

--

--

Pragya Chaturvedi
Fourth Wave

A 15 YO author- writes about the drowning society to spread awareness.