What It Means To Be A Single Lady In Her Thirties In My Country

No wonder she’s not married yet

Sarah Kyomugisha
Fourth Wave

--

Photo by antonytrivent @Pixabay Images.

I’m writing this on the 10th of March, and in less than two months, on the 4th of May, I turn 28. I must say it’s been one rollercoaster of a ride; nevertheless, I am grateful and want to thank God and myself for the job well done. I really don’t know where the road will continue to take me but one thing is for sure, nausea is likely to set in. Regardless, I am both excited and a little scared.

From Miss to the dreaded Madam

Where I live in Uganda girls/women/ladies are called by their parents’ given names until the age of twenty-five. After twenty-five, society gives you another name and the examples I can give now are Mum Tyra, Mum Bridget, Mum Ketra, Mum Travor, Mum Ronald, Mum Tim, etc. according to the name of your firstborn child. If you are not married and have no child they call you Miss until the age of thirty. After thirty, you become a Madam.

According to the English dictionary, the word Madam is used to refer to a woman politely or respectfully. However, that’s not the case in most parts of villages in Uganda. If there’s any Ugandan here, I apologize for putting us in the spotlight, but you know what I am talking about.

--

--