LOVE AND LONGING

Where There Was Once Love

A collection of micro poetry

Words by Egypt
Fourth Wave

--

Keep the pretty ribbon you wish to tie around the parcel of my life. I’m unboxing myself

Sometimes I think, what if we had met when we were both full in spirit, not half empty of life?

You were meant to be my only one forever.
Now you are my saddest memory forever.

Now you are gone, and I am set free
Yet your memory still holds me in your prison

I wanted to fall in love for you to catch me
But instead, you caught my freedom, locked me in,
and threw away the key

The only lie I wished you’d tell me was that our love would last forever
even I know this to be impossible.
You told me every other lie apart from the one I wanted to hear

We could have created a constellation of miracles with our love story
Now I’m left with only a black hole of a heart when I remember the crumbling of our tower of love

I asked you to take my hand
hold it tender
and never let go

Instead, you took my voice
held it to ransom
and asked me to let go of it

We had different visions of love

My love for you
once made me swim
in my own heartbeats
now my memory of your mental torture,
makes me question who my heart was actually beating for
was it for you
or the idea
of the love we could have had

Poet’s note: I’m Egypt, a poet and writer. I write at the intersection of poetry, words, and thoughts. I’m a lover of life, I’ve been hurt, and I still have hope. I’m healing and learning from it all. Writing and poetry have been powerful tools on my journey. I write to express, touch divinity, and liberate my heart.

Follow me or subscribe

More poetry

For more poems about love and loss, follow Fourth Wave. Have you got a story, essay, or poem that focuses on women or other disempowered groups? Submit to the Wave!

--

--

Words by Egypt
Fourth Wave

Essayist, Poet, and Writer. Dancing at the intersection of words and thoughts. https://ko-fi.com/wordsbyegypt