Why Does My Voice Do That?

Some women unconsciously make themselves small

Patsy Fergusson
Fourth Wave

--

Photo by Vidar Nordli-Mathisen on Unsplash

A younger friend of mine gave me some surprising feedback recently. She said I am a force to be reckoned with, so why do I present myself as a silly bimbo? Okay, she didn’t say that, exactly. I forget the exact words she used. But that’s what they meant.

I was taken aback. Is that how I present myself?

Since then, I’ve been paying more attention to my mannerisms, and I’ve noticed a disturbing trait. I’m 69 years old, yet I often use a “girlish” voice, particularly with my husband of 40 years. I lilt my voice up, in a friendly and “charming” way — or not so charming, now that I give it some thought.

This is entirely automatic. I don’t even know I’m doing it. I don’t try to do it. In fact, I’m trying to stop!

The reason this happens is obvious. It’s a sign of subservience. It’s like when a dog rolls over to show you her soft underbelly. She is signaling, “I’m friendly. I mean you no harm. Please don’t take me to the gravel pit!”

Not that anyone was fearing I would harm them in the first place . . .

Since then, I’ve been paying more attention to my mannerisms, and I’ve noticed a disturbing trait. I’m 69 years…

--

--

Patsy Fergusson
Fourth Wave

Tree hugger. Tour guide. Top Writer. Feminist. Newly-baptized Bay swimmer. Editor of Fourth Wave. https://medium.com/fourth-wave