Why Chuck Palahniuk’s Advice on “Thought” Verbs is Perfect

It might be the only writing advice you need

David Fox
Fox Files

--

Photo by Priscilla Du Preez on Unsplash

Paradoxically, I’m always searching out writing advice even though I also think there’s too much of it.

I can’t help it. Staring at the blank page, it’s too easy to believe that there’s a quick fix easy solution just a Google search or bookshelf hunt away. Sometimes even the act of leaving whatever I’m struggling with does the trick, but if not, I pin my hopes on other writers to inspire me out of my funk.

It was during such a quest for help from total strangers that I stumbled upon an essay by Chuck Palahniuk that left me stunned by how simply he breaks down something a lot of writers struggle with.

--

--

David Fox
Fox Files

The challenges and triumphs of parenting while disabled. Email: davefox990@hotmail.com