Fractal Chief Scientist has been elevated to the rank of IACR Fellow for 2019

The IACR Fellows Program recognizes outstanding IACR members for technical and professional contributions to the field of cryptology. The IACR announce six members that have been selected to the rank of Fellow for 2019:

  • Jonathan Katz, Chief Scientist of Fractal Platform, for broad contributions, especially in public-key encryption and cryptographic protocols, and for dedication to service and education.
  • Kaoru Kurosawa, for seminal contributions spanning anonymity, e-voting, and public-key cryptography, and for service to the Japanese and international communities.
  • Daniele Micciancio, for pioneering work on lattice-based cryptography and the complexity of lattice problems, and for service to the IACR.
  • Vincent Rijmen, for co-designing AES, contributions to the design and
     cryptanalysis of symmetric primitives, and service to the IACR.
  • Amit Sahai, for fundamental contributions, including to secure computation, zero knowledge, and functional encryption, and for service to the IACR.
  • Xiaoyun Wang, for essential contributions to the cryptanalysis and design
     of hash functions, and for service to the IACR.

IACR Fellow is the highest honor in cryptography research, the number of Fellows to be selected in any one year is expected to be approximately 0.25% and should not exceed 0.5% of the total current membership.

More information about the IACR Fellows Program can be found at