Programming

3 Visual Studio Code Tips To Boost Your Workflow

VS Code is an almighty tool as long as you know how to use it.

Fractions
Published in
6 min readApr 24, 2022

--

Visual Studio Code | tips & tricks

As the days go by, Visual Studio Code gets better and adds more features. However, most of these features are usually out of sight and deep inside the JSON settings of VS Code which most beginners try to avoid. Today, I will share 3 unusual tips that use to power up my development environment.

1. Why There Are Too Many Configs In The Root?

Configuration files, a.k.a dotfiles, are an integral part of development because it is not 2000 anymore and no one uses plain HTML, CSS, and JavaScript anymore. We have tools for almost anything now. There are transpilers, compilers, bundlers, linters, prettifiers… And luckily, we can configure them with a configuration file according to the needs of the projects.

However, having tens of configuration files in the root directory is just a mess. Don’t get me wrong, it is excellent that I can customize these tools, but after configuring them once, I never open them unless there is something that I couldn't foresee in the project. So, why should I try to find my main folder inside this mess every time?

--

--

Fractions

Hi, I am Can. I have been working on web development for a while. I am currently an EEE student at Koc University. I like creating music, as well.