A fragrance a week

Ayyappa Vemulkar
Fragrance Weekly
Published in
2 min readDec 14, 2015

I’ve had a slightly unorthodox experience with fragrances through out my life. I grew up surrounded by blenders, perfumers, chemists, and chemical engineers. I played with aroma chemicals and blends every now and then and was told wonderful stories about the creation of smells. As I became an engineer and entered the world of tech I grew more distant from scents and fragrances even though they existed all around me in the form of soaps, shampoos, deodorants, and other products. I hope the experiences I have with fragrances of all shapes and forms, as detailed in Fragrance Weekly, will help me reconnect with my scent filled past.

My first set of experiences (or experiments as I like to see them) will revolve around perfumes and colognes. I will wear a different cologne or perfume every week for a whole week and detail my experiences. I’m curious to see how I feel in various environments (at work or during dinner for example) and how the various fragrances develop during the course of a day. I will also take some time to understand the behavior of the aroma molecules and ingredients of each fragrance and hopefully will be able to provide some meaningful insight. Apart from that my weekly review will also include obvious components such as the price of the fragrance, where it can be bought, and a little bit about the house that created it. So I hope there will be something in each piece for everyone to enjoy.

First up is Penhaligon’s English Fern. Welcome and I hope you enjoy reading my stories as much as I enjoy learning more about fragrances!

--

--