Robert Frost’s Three Words to Guide Us Through Crisis

Life goes on. It always has. It always will. Don’t forget that.

Ryan Fan
Frame of Reference

--

Photo made by the author

“In three words I can sum up everything I’ve learned about life. It goes on.” — Robert Frost

As someone who has written a 114-page paper on Robert Frost and his poems’ application to my life, I hold the poetry of Robert Frost very close to home. This might be the 10,000th piece of writing I’ve written about Robert Frost. I never will claim to be a “Frost expert” because his brilliance and power in his poetry was that deep. But I especially hold the words of Frost close to home now, during the tumultuous year that is 2020.

To say that the year has been eventful has been an understatement. We are living through a pandemic that has killed almost 250,000 Americans, an unprecedented year of reckoning with systemic racism and police brutality, an unprecedented election, and a sitting incumbent president who won’t concede and accept election results.

I have had many days stressed out of my mind this year, but the words of Robert Frost hold true about life now more than ever: it goes on. And the way to really internalize and best practice Frost’s words to guide us through crisis, let’s take a look through Robert Frost’s poetry and how he lived through his tragic personal life.

--

--

Ryan Fan
Frame of Reference

Believer, Baltimore City IEP Chair, and 2:39 marathon runner. Diehard fan of “The Wire.”