Do you want to be bored, or frustrated?

Andrea F Hill
Frameplay
Published in
2 min readDec 14, 2017

--

I was posed this question a few years ago by an unofficial mentor over drinks. I was complaining that while I making inroads in promoting more innovative and experimental practices at my workplace, things weren’t moving as quickly as I would have liked.

I was toying with the idea of leaving for some place that “got it”.

Rick challenged me on it. “What makes you happy? Do you want to go someplace where processes are established, and you just follow them? Wouldn’t that bore you?”

“Or do you want to make things better? Being a trailblazer is frustrating — it’ll feel like you’re banging your head against the wall more often than not — but one day, you could break down that wall.”

I smirked at him. He and I had initially bonded over our shared INTJ personality type, and he knew exactly what I would choose.

The challenge.

Sure enough, over the next few years I was thrilled at all that transpired at the company. We launched a Lean Startup. We carved out an entire dedicated Innovation team, and introduced an “Innovation Everyday” program to raise interest and engagement across the organization.

When the company was acquired last year and I moved on, I took pride in the fact “they got it.”

Last January I founded Frameplay, an innovation consulting firm. And I realized that I no longer have to make the choice Rick put before me. I’m in the wonderful position to be able to work with companies who ‘get it’, but aren’t yet ‘doing it’.

I’m writing this post because I just got off a call with a prospect where he mentioned ‘delighting his customers’ more than once. He talked about how their clients ‘have other responsibilities’ and his company just wants to help them ‘get their Jobs Done.’

These are the sorts of conversations I LOVE to have. It’s a new challenge, but there’s no wall to bang my head against. I can bring my expertise to the table, and we can work together to grow their business.

Rick’s advice was exactly what I needed to hear at the time. And I’m glad I spent the time breaking down that wall, because it gave me what I need to help others move forward.

Turns out the answer to “bored or frustrated” is neither one.

Learned something? Click the 👏 to say “thanks!” and help others find this article.

Andrea Hill is the principal consultant at Frameplay. Frameplay is an innovation consultancy that helps companies become more customer-focused and thrive in a rapidly changing world. Learn more at frameplay.co

--

--

Andrea F Hill
Frameplay

Director with the BC Public Service Digital Investment Office, former web dev & product person. 🔎 Lifelong learner. Unapologetic introvert