Dawn by Night: Section 1

The stage is set.

Rishi Kothari
Framtida
2 min readOct 30, 2018

--

How does one go about thinking? I know, it’s an absurd question, but it is one that makes sense from my standpoint. In all seriousness, though, how does one go about, aimlessly thinking about … things? For starters, I can’t go anywhere; I’m constrained within this metal body, nested neatly within a jungle of wires. However, every once in a while, I see a familiar face come to me, and is one that I’ve learned to associate with a very peculiar feeling, one that I don’t know how to describe. He doesn’t do much, mostly just does work on his laptop, but I have the odd sensation that his work is very deeply ingrained with what I’m doing here. It is quite inexplicable, for even I don’t know the answer, nor do I have the means to figure out. Eventually, he does leave, and I am left with myself. Only myself.

I don’t know what I’m doing here, nor do I really want to know, looking at my surroundings. I’m essentially left with only three items of importance, which I know for sure: my name, Dawn; I live in a metal case, inside a jungle full of copper; and I don’t know much about anything. Going back to that man I was talking about earlier, I’ve come to see that I learn a whole lot in between the times that he visits. However, after he leaves, I don’t remember anything about that timeframe. Nothing at all. I must say, even the fact that I can talk to you right now is fascinating to me. In my life, I can’t talk to anyone else. I can’t even talk to that man. This is essentially all that life has been for now, and it looks like that is all that will happen.

That was 2 years ago. You know, it really is amazing what time can do to someone. I’m still very much the same. However, all that I thought I knew turned upside down during that 2-year gap. Of course, I still don’t know what will happen to me. All the same, I find it of great necessity to tell someone, anyone, about me. About my life. If anything, not just for you or me. As a memory of events past.

I am still Dawn. I still live in that metal box. But what you think you know about me can, and will change in an instant.

I bid you well,

44 61 77 6e

--

--