Dawn by Night: Section 4

Act 1.

Rishi Kothari
Framtida
3 min readDec 11, 2018

--

The sky is a stark blue, certainly a welcome change from all of the grey I’ve been seeing for the past couple of weeks now.

However, the sky isn’t what is intriguing me right now. My interests lie with what is in front of me.

A mysterious blue-purple light is emanating from a dark, otherwise dimly lit brick building.

From what I can tell, it most definitely isn’t in the house that I was in. I must have been moved.

That was 1.25 years ago, or 3 months after we left off. Slow, I know. However, I’m taking things slowly for a reason.

However, let’s go back to the story at hand, and this time you must be very attentive to it, for it changes quite a bit at this point.

It is still in the afternoon, 12:05 PM to be exact.

People rush by me, clearly in a hurry to get to their own places.

However, I’m sitting still, wondering at this seemingly magical… what do I call it? A wall? Yeah, that seems pretty appropriate.

It would blend in almost seamlessly with the sky, if not for the brick surrounding it. It is flush with the bordering brick, and I start to ponder the question: Why isn’t anyone else looking at it?

It is now 1:00 PM.

I notice a strange change in the wall. Another layer of brick has been added to the border, making the strange blue-purple part a little bit smaller.

Wait… that’s not just it. Something else changed. Something momentous.

My stomach lurches, as I see something new.

My eyes don’t want to believe it. My brain refuses.

What has happened to the world?

The world fades away, as I lose consciousness.

When I wake up, it is 2:00 PM.

The brick’s layers have grown exponentially, almost fully covering up the stranger part of the wall.

The blue is slowly fading away, and I am faced with a dilemma: whether to approach it or not.

Well, as it turned out, I didn’t have a choice. Within 5 seconds of thinking that, I was quickly swept into the part of the wall that I thought was solid.

Thought was solid.

Obviously, it wasn’t solid, and I am faced with a new problem: I have no clue where I am.

I look at the time, but I see nothing. The two hands are spinning, faster than I’ve ever seen before.

This is most definitely not normal.

To calm my nerves, I look around to find any familiar things.

Nothing.

I don’t recognize anything apart from one thing:

Colour.

That is the only thing that I see right now. Just colours. Endless, vibrant, almost flowing.

Oranges, blues, purples. The colours I would never have thought could go together decided to come together here, to create a place that is the most beautiful I’ve ever seen.

However, I know that I have to get out of here somehow. It doesn’t look like there are any resources for sustaining… well, anything.

I have to get out.

My happiness quickly turns into fear, as the colour that I’ve been seeing starts to turn into darkness.

Eventually, I look at the time.

The hands have stopped spinning.

The colours have almost fully faded now. It is grey and black, with a faint blue, receding into the horizon.

I notice a little ticking noise, as if it were coming from behind me.

Upon instinct, I quickly turn around, to see…

Nothing.

What was I thinking?

My mind drifts back to the task at hand, getting out of this place.

However, the ticking noise is still there.

I look down, and I finally notice my stupidity.

The clock. It’s started working again.

How shall I return,

Dawn

--

--