Medium, learn me english please.

Julien Perri
Français Anglais, English French
2 min readMay 12, 2013

When I discovered Medium a few weeks ago, I didn’t understand why it is brilliant. But in internet, it’s simple to find information, especially with my acquaintance who wrote about Medium on their blogs. With their explanations, I found Medium very interesting for me because I like to read. I can spend hours to read, whether a book or articles on internet. And on Medium, there are many texts with interesting subjects so it’s made to please me.

But nevermind, for me Medium is more than a repertory of texts. As I noticed, It’s a website almost exclusively write in english and as I’m french, it’s a little difficult for me to appreciate entirely every texts what I read.Behind this difficulty, there is a possibility for me to discover something else than what I usually read in France. My english isn’t particularly brilliant, but I think it’s good for me to read and write in english.

I hope for you and me there will be an evolution in my writing in english, but to keep the desire to write, I think I must write some texts in french because there are some things I can’t traduce in English for this moment. Or because it’s uninteresting in english perhaps.

Finally as I’m french, I’ll write this text also in my language for the english peoples would like to learn the french or for those who want to learn to me how to write english much better.

Quand j’ai découvert Medium il y a quelques semaines,je ne comprenais pas pourquoi c’était brillant.Mais sur internet, il est simple de trouver des informations surtout avec mes connaissances qui ont écrit à propos de Medium sur leurs blogs.Avec leurs explications, j’ai trouvé Medium vraiment très intéressant pour moi parce que j’aime lire. je peux passer des heures à lire, que ce soit un livre ou un article sur le web. Et dans Medium, il y beaucoup de texte avec des sujets intéressants donc c’est fait pour me plaire.

Mais passons, pour moi Medium est plus qu’un répertoire de texte.Comme je l’ai remarqué, Medium est un site presque exclusivement écrit en anglais et comme je suis français, il est difficile pour moi d’apprécier entièrement chaque texte. Derrière cette difficulté, il y a une possibilité pour moi de découvrir quelque chose d’autre que ce que j’ai l’habitude de lire en France.Mon anglais n’est pas particulièrement brillant, mais je pense qu’il est bon pour moi de lire et d’écrire en anglais.

J’espère pour vous et moi qu’il y aura une évolution dans mon écriture en anglais, mais pour garder le plaisir, je pense que je dois aussi écrire certains textes en français parce qu’il y a certaines choses que je ne peux pas traduire en anglais pour le moment. Ou parce que c’est inintéressant en anglais peut être.

Finalement, comme je suis Français, j’écrirai (j’ai écrit) ce texte aussi en français pour les Anglophones qui aimeraient apprendre le français ou pour ceux qui voudraient m’apprendre comment mieux écrire en Anglais.

--

--

Julien Perri
Français Anglais, English French

Amateur de photos et de montagnes, ici pour raconter et montrer un peu de mes aventures