My unfocused journal

Francis Fontaine
My unfocused journal
3 min readApr 2, 2019

--

I’ve started my career as a photographer in 2009 at my friend's wedding and I realize that I have no record of all those past years anywhere. When you think about it, it’s been 10 years!

That made me think and I’ve always been struggling to publish my work on Instagram or even Facebook because something was always missing.

The Story

What about the context? Of course, I could put some caption but why stay limited by just one picture. It seemed like I was trying to sell a picture instead of a moment. That being said, I’m not a visual artist but a photographer. For me, the context is as important if not even more important than the picture itself and that put me in a strange place with the internet.

Seems like everyone is searching to get the perfect creative Instagram profile following some secret algorithm to get the follows and the likes. It is quite the paradox since a lot of people end up getting the same picture.

So what about being creative in our own way?

Believe me, I tried to follow the rules. I tried to be organized, define my work based on just one style, it does simplify things a lot. My account started to have a homogeneous look but it did come at a price. What about all those moments where the photos can’t be forced into a specific style? I soon realize that not all the pictures I take in my work/life are the same and I could just not either; force them in a style or publish them and crash my Instagram project.

I love photographing wedding and I have an urge to published them.

Every moment deserves to have their own style whether it look good or not in a birdeyes view of an instagram account.

So in the end, I just stopped updating my Instagram account cause it was not possible to encapsulate all the work into one style. I do a lot of different things with my photography and I want to be able to publish them without any second thought.

Forgot to mention, it would get me bored pretty fast…

So here’s my attempt at creating my own space, my stories, my creations, mainly taking back my art and show it to the world as it is without a big picture in mind. It is also a way for me to reflect back on my work, life goes so fast that I need a way to share without getting anxious about doing things the right way.

Let’s stop that performance complex, trying to be like by everyone or thinking too far ahead.

Here’s, just like my life, my unfocused journal.

--

--