I Hate Hustle Culture, But I Still Wanna Do It

Setting new rules for success on the side

Frank McKinley
Frank, Speaking Frankly

--

Photo by Vanessa Garcia : https://www.pexels.com/photo/photo-of-professor-teahcing-his-student-6325984/

I first learned about hustle culture from the book Crushing It by Gary Vaynerchuk.

As I read it, I thought, “Man, I’m going to have to spend every moment outside work to get all this done.”

I got tired just thinking about it.

If you have a ton of time, and an unquenchable thirst to dominate your marketplace, you don’t need to read this.

But if you’re like me, you want and need to do something on the side but don’t want it to take over your life.

Even the word hustle has horrible connotations.

I looked up hustle in the dictionary.

Yeah, I’m a word nerd.

Here are three synonyms that appeared in bold:

  • Jostle
  • Manhandle
  • Coerce

In other words, hustling is crushing it.

It sounds more like fighting than creating.

Hustling is what pushy car salespeople do. They pressure you to buy today, right now. Why? Because if you don’t buy, they don’t eat.

--

--

Frank McKinley
Frank, Speaking Frankly

I like to figure things out and share what I find. My favorite topics are faith, communication, business, and personal growth. https://skl.sh/2Xp1p8d