From Oracle to an Open Source ERPNext

Pawan Mehta
Frappe Thoughts
Published in
2 min readSep 3, 2016

After working for many years with ERP’s like Oracle and PeopleSoft, I felt something was missing.My search for that “something” started and led me into the new world of Open Source.

Gone was my Windows laptop, GUI tool for SQL,proprietary design tools and in came Python,frappe-bench & GitHub.It felt like I had gone back to my college lab days, where a lot of computer commands were run from the command line. Yes, I had found an Open Source ERP!!!

After my first month of exploring ERPNext, it was natural for me to compare it with the corporate favorite Legacy ERP packages and here are somethings I observed

I learnt that ERPNext takes away the rigidity from your ERP systems in true Open Source spirit and gives you the freedom to view, learn,understand,change the code and even build new applications to meet varying business needs.

It uses a tool called “bench” which allows multiple sites and multiple apps to be installed on different sites, enabling it to be multi tenant and be either self hosted or on the cloud.

ERPNext is backed by a vibrant open source community which answers a lot of questions and helps you gain interesting insights into the product.

I am glad that I made the change to contribute my knowledge and learn from the Open Source world and like someone once said

--

--