Cody Meyer
A Fraternal Life
Published in
5 min readJul 27, 2014

--

Why I Will Never Tell You About My “Frat”

Last year, there were a series of posts on Twitter about the chapter of Kappa Sigma that I was involved with starting at my university. We were the first fraternity back to the campus in over a decade, and for many incoming students who had no exposure to Greek life, we spent a great deal of time breaking down stereotypes and explaining why what they saw in the movies was not really what it was about, often times, getting on the phone with the parents of interested young men and trying to break down these walls. The firestorm came through an anonymous confessions page after a bunch of different students decided to post about Kappa Sigma for a few days. I will never understand why we became the topic if discussion; however, the fact remains that we were. Some of them were very positive, and others were negative. In one post, an individual called me out after I asked another user to stop using the word “Frat” in regards to Kappa Sigma. This individual had some harsh words for me, and wanted to know why it was such a big deal, and out of respect for that individual’s curiosity, I would like to answer their question.

It’s a big deal because I am not, nor have I ever been in a “frat”.

Let me begin with the word in question, Frat. The word alone draws up images. Frat boys, Frat row, Frat parties, not ironically enough, this word carries with it a lot of stereotypes. Stereotypes that are centered on alcohol abuse, the degradation of women, of out-of-control parties, poor academics, and of drug use. Quite frankly, hearing that word used in reference to myself, my order, my brothers, or of other worthy fraternities is like nails on a chalkboard. My parents did not raise a “Frat Boy”, they raised a Fraternity Man. I don’t wear sparries, and I don’t own any khaki shorts. I do wear polos, but I am fairly confident I look ridiculous in them.

I am sure you think, “But that’s what fraternities are. They are frats, it’s just a shorthand of fraternity.”, and to that I say not at all. Fraternity men all around the world take offence to that word. While I am sure you have seen plenty of stories on the news, on the internet, and all over about “Frats gone wrong”, what you don’t see on the news is all the good work that fraternities and sororities do in their universities, in their communities, and in the world. I won’t shower you with the plethora of Greek statistics out there, but only inform you I have seen more money donated to philanthropic works, more service hours put to good causes, more positive programming done to better the lives of fellow Greeks, and more positivity come out of the Greek community collectively then I have ever seen “Frat Stories” on the news. With that being said, I could also talk until I am blue in the face about all of the Hollywood movies made about Greek life. You know the films, Old School, Animal House, American Pie, etc. These movies sell an image of Greek life, and it sells well. People line up to see the life and times of these wild “Frats” and pay to do it. Don’t get the wrong impression, I don’t hate these movies. Many of them are very funny movies and I enjoy watching them (Old School is my personal favorite), but I also enjoy watching Breaking Bad, but have never considered selling Meth. These movies are the same way. We enjoy watching them, but never would we want to associate with an organization that acts the way they do.

With all this in mind, I would love to tell you about my Fraternity, the Kappa Sigma Fraternity. Kappa Sigma was formed in the year 1400 by a man by the name of Manual Chrysoloras who was brought to the University of Bologna to teach Greek, Mathematics, and Science. In this time, the Governor of Bologna, Baldassarre Cossa was sending thugs and robbers to discourage the men of the University from becoming educated. To combat this, Chrysoloras formed a secret society for the protection of the students, and thus Kappa Sigma was born. From then on in, the students meet in secret and formed secret bonds protecting each other from Cossa. From then on in, Kappa Sigma wrote the textbook on Greek (literally, Chrysoloras wrote the first academic work on the teaching of language Erotemata Civas Questiones). The order would spread to other great universities in Europe for many years to follow. Until around the mid-19th Century, the order would be strong, but as it aged, it started to fade into the pages of history until one of Kappa Sigma’s American founding fathers would be told by his host in Europe these famous words:

“My Colors Fade for Want of Wearers”

This founder held these words in his heart and would bring the order of Kappa Sigma to America, and on December 10th, 1869 at 46 East Lawn at the University of Virginia, Kappa Sigma would be reborn in America by five friends and brothers and from there until the end of time, Kappa Sigma would never again “fade for want of wearers”.

Kappa Sigma here at MSUM was founded in 2010, and became the Sigma-Sigma chapter in May 2013. In that time, we have done numerous service and philanthropic projects, and have strived to be the greatest men that we can be. I hold my brothers in the highest esteem, and I could not be more proud to be their Grand Master. My brothers are not “Frat Boys”, and to hear them called such is something I take personally. Each one of them carries with them centuries of teachings, sacred bonds, and history. Maybe it’s not “Frat” enough for a movie, but they are incredible men, and that’s good enough for me.

The Sigma-Sigma Chapter after our one year banquet: May 4th, 2014

--

--

Cody Meyer
A Fraternal Life

MSUM Student Body President, Founder/Grand Master Kappa Sigma Sigma-Sigma, Lover of Blues, Life, and Christopher Walken Impressions...