6 Rewards Schools Could Use to Motivate Introverted Kids

“A big stack of worksheets!”

Andrew Knott
Frazzled
Published in
3 min readJul 23, 2019

--

My son’s school offered a special incentive to encourage students to use their online learning program during the school break. There was a note in my kindergartner’s homework folder that said all students who did 45 minutes per week during vacation would have a special lunch with the principals when school started back.

As an introverted adult who once was an introverted child, my first thought upon reading the note was, “Worst. Prize. Ever.”

Regular school lunch was enough of a nightmare already with all the forced socialization, unstructured time, and eating in front of other people. And now that I’ve finally gotten into a workable routine after four months you want me to eat somewhere else, with different people, and in the company of principals? No thanks!

But, being the enlightened parent that I am, I tamped down my school demons and put on a good face for my son.

“Hey!” I said with an exclamation point for some reason. “This says if you do i-Ready for 45 minutes a week during vacation, you get to have a special lunch with the principals!”

“I know,” my son replied. “I don’t want to do that.”

--

--

Andrew Knott
Frazzled

Essayist, humorist, novelist. Dad of three. Editor of Frazzled. Debut novel LOVE'S A DISASTER (May 21, 2024, Bayou Wolf Press). Website: AndrewKnottAuthor.com