Humor | Parenting

A Menopausal Mom’s Side of the Conversation Between Her and Her Kid Who Is Trying on Fifty Pairs of Jeans

“Don’t shush me”

Stacey Curran
Frazzled
Published in
2 min readFeb 15, 2024

--

Photo by Maude Frédérique Lavoie on Unsplash

I love those.

Why do you hate them?

The only jeans you’ve liked are $200.

That’s $150 too much.

Don’t shush me.

You are asking people on TikTok to vote on which ones look best?

Strangers?

Stop posting. I’m wearing leggings, and this bulky coat, and I’m streaming sweat.

Because it’s 100 degrees in here.

Because I’m in every picture.

Because that’s how a room full of mirrors works.

I know no one is looking at me, but I am looking at me.

You look great in every pair.

Except the $200 ones.

TikTok strangers voted for those?

Will they give you the money?

It’s so hot in here I’m going to pass out.

I’m dramatic and embarrassing?

You don’t know what embarrassing is.

--

--

Stacey Curran
Frazzled

Former journalist; few N.E. Press Assoc. Awards, few Boston Globe Magazine essays, @TheBelladonnaComedy @Slackjaw @BostonAccent, @WBUR, grocery lists.