Humor | Satire | Parenting

I’m the “Troll” Under the Bridge and This Is All a Big Misunderstanding

Those Billy Goats got it all wrong

Stephanie D. Rondeau
Frazzled
Published in
4 min readJul 15, 2024

--

The image shows a small wooden figure resembling a robot with a square head, large round eyes made from washers, and a stitched mouth. The figure is positioned behind rusted metal bars on the side of a bridge or walkway, peering through. The background includes blurred greenery.
Photo by Felicia Montenegro on Unsplash

I was only looking for some peace and quiet. It was 6:30 a.m. and I had already been up for three hours, had prepared (and thrown away) two meals, and cleaned up one batch of suspiciously purple vomit from my first outfit.

It was just like any other day.

I tried hiding in the closet, but my kids found me wrapped in a robe, watching Netflix’s Perfect Match on silent with captions on.

Is Harry really hot or is he just tall?

I tried hiding in the bathroom instead, but the next thing I knew I was surrounded by screams of “WHY IS MOMMY IN THE BATHTUB I NEED TO POOOOOOP!”

This was the only place left to go. The only place they wouldn’t find me.

Under the bridge.

How was I to know that a throuple of frolicking goats would choose that very day to cross to the other side of the bridge? Don’t they know the grass is always greener but rarely tastier on the other side? It’s probably greener because it’s full of pesticides. And not even organic ones. If they had stayed put none of this would have happened.

--

--

Stephanie D. Rondeau
Frazzled

MS, ATC, CSCS. Kidlit author and editor, query liaison. Mostly writes about writing, health and wellness, feminism, and parenting. Occasionally funny.