Satire

It’s Not Fair That I, a Man, Have to be All Stressed Out for Mother’s Day

If they only knew what I go through

WhatTheZem
Frazzled
Published in
3 min readMay 13, 2023

--

Photo by Sander Sammy on Unsplash

Shopping and planning for Mother’s Day is unnecessarily stressful for me. There’s simply too much pressure when trying to plan a special day for this one holiday that happens on a single day of the whole year.

It’s like doing all the grocery shopping and cooking all the meals for a family of four every day after work, then cleaning up afterward while everyone runs away to watch TV and play on their PS5. To be honest, it feels a little ungrateful.

It’s even hard to think of fun stuff for my family to do since I don’t know what my wife and kids enjoy. Dinner reservations are almost impossible. Well, I’m guessing they are since I’ve never made any. Eating out for me means food trucks at craft breweries. Even the simplest Mother’s Day gift like having flowers delivered is a major five-alarm challenge. I’d have to choose from an unbelievably large selection, somehow know what type of flower my wife would like (Do we already have a vase?), remember our address, and dig up a credit card, too.

And forget just picking some flowers up at Kroger — I tried last year on the morning of Mother’s Day and ended up fighting three other dads over the last dying bouquet.

--

--

WhatTheZem
Frazzled

Kurt is just trying to put more humor in the world. Please consider supporting him here: https://medium.com/@kzem/membership