Humor | Satire

We’re Trying to Get Pregnant and I’m Dying to Hear What You Think!

Liz Lydic
Frazzled
Published in
2 min readFeb 12, 2024

--

Photo by John Looy on Unsplash

r/ life_news

Posted by blessedandcurious 7 days ago

I’m excited to announce that we [30F/32M] are trying to get pregnant! :) I’m thrilled for this amazing time, but very humbled by the idea of our possible conception of a human! I wanted to know if anyone knows of anything I should or shouldn’t do during this incredible stage of my life? I want to be very prepared as I go into this next chapter, but for my current chapter, I want to be prepared for that, as well.

Any sage wisdom from you all as we embark on this wonderful journey would be helpful. I know of some things to avoid (and some things to do), but wanted to see if any of you out there who have tried to get pregnant know of more? Here’s what I know of, so far:

  • DO stay patient
  • DON’T jump
  • DO pray
  • DON’T drink alcohol
  • DO be positive
  • DON’T travel internationally
  • DO remember self-care
  • DON’T lift heavy things
  • DO get rest
  • DON’T eat mercury
  • DO drink lots of water
  • DON’T hop
  • DO track my ovulation
  • DON’T ski too fast
  • DO consider pre-schools
  • DON’T use jackhammers
  • DO eat lots of fruits and vegetables
  • DON’T start a master’s program
  • DO stay hydrated
  • DON’T go through a big life event (besides trying :))
  • DO find joy in everything
  • DON’T bicycle or unicycle or reclined-cycle (ie: at gym)
  • DO meditate
  • DON’T levitate
  • DO find community
  • DON’T increase blood pressure
  • DO spend time in yoga inversions, especially post-sex
  • DON’T do rough sex
  • DO have sex (ie: trying :))
  • DON’T do butt stuff
  • DO decrease sodium
  • DON’T have x-rays (not sure; I know this is if you are pregnant, but the signs at the dentist say if you are or think you are pregnant; seems like I should just stay away from x-rays while trying to get pregnant????!?!)
  • DO watch out for increased cortisol
  • DON’T do HIIT workouts or CrossFit or marathons
  • DO get outside and enjoy the time before I have a baby
  • DON’T obsess about getting pregnant
  • DO pick out nursery room colors
  • DON’T go in dirty lakes or rivers
  • DO keep track of all the times we are trying :)
  • DON’T wear tight jeans
  • DO take a course for women trying to get pregnant
  • DON’T do major home renos
  • DO read books about conscious conception
  • DON’T watch zombie movies or anything that would get heart rate up
  • DO talk to a spiritual advisor
  • DON’T hesitate to ask for prayers

I’ll be back later for some tips on how to be a parent, but for now, I’m dying to hear what you all think about me trying to get pregnant.

Follow Frazzled on Twitter and Instagram!

--

--

Liz Lydic
Frazzled

Liz Lydic is a mom, writer, and local government employee in the Los Angeles area. She also does theatre stuff.