Why I Stopped Going to My Therapist and Started Reading Barstool Articles Instead

Anthony Pellegrino
FREE BEER MAGAZINE!
3 min readJan 25, 2021

My therapist didn’t know shit, but Barstool knows everything.

Source: cottonbro via Pexels

At first I was opposed to therapy for several reasons. One reason I wasn’t exactly ecstatic to start therapy is because everyone in my life was telling me that I needed to go. When you have 27 people telling you that you absolutely must do something, you’re most likely going to reject the idea. Eventually I caved in and I went. It was fine for the first couple of sessions. She asked all about my life, but as she got to know more about me it seemed like she was asking questions that insinuated that I was a bad person. As the sessions went on and on, I could tell that she didn’t know anything about me at all. In fact, she didn’t know shit. I mean she is a girl, I should’ve figured she wouldn’t know much.

My buddy Dan introduced me to the world of Barstool Sports. He was always wearing these “Saturday’s Are for the Boys” shirts and it felt like he was a part of something greater than himself. He seemed much happier than me. I figured, if therapy isn’t making me happy… then maybe Barstool Sports will. I started following them all over social media. They post these hilarious clips of people doing reckless dumb shit. How can you have a bad day when you’re laughing so hard from these videos? My therapist literally never made me laugh.

One thing my therapist couldn’t help me with was getting girls. This is still a problem for me, but Barstool has helped me put my dream girl into perspective. I have my priorities more in order now because I know exactly how I want my girlfriend to look. Barstool runs this Instagram account called “Barstool Smokeshows” and every day they feature beautiful women on their page and it helps me figure out whether I want a brunette or a blonde, or a girl with big tits, a big ass, or both honestly. My therapist never talked about bitches with me, but Barstool really gets it.

Then I found out that they post really down to earth articles as well. This is what became therapeutic for me. The first Barstool article I ever read was “Why I Refuse to Remain Silent When Critics, Idiots and Hypocrites Lie and Manipulate the Truth about Barstool Sports” written by the founder of Barstool, Dave Portnoy. This article hit home. It talks about how people always just see the surface of an individual, rather than taking the time to get to know who they are. Dave Portnoy is sick of people criticizing him, because he can’t be criticized, and honestly I hate being criticized too. I feel like this relates to me a lot because I was always called a “sexist, misogynistic, piece of shit” my whole life. I mean I am all those things, but who the fuck are you to criticize me? My therapist never talked through stuff like this with me. I’m not trying to sound self-centered, but I feel like Dave Portnoy just knew I was going through some shit and he wrote this article just for me. If this article isn’t for you, there’s a ton more about defending yourself when people call you a piece of shit and all the people that are suing you.

If you’re sick of going to your therapist because they just keep telling you that you’re not a good person, then leave them and join the world of Barstool instead. Your therapist doesn’t understand you, but the people at Barstool do. Don’t be a pussy.

--

--