A Very Large Appliqué Crochet Flower

For all your crochet flower needs

Leslie Stahlhut
Free Crochet Patterns and Tutorials

--

Where it all began: Day of the Dead 2018

Last year, to celebrate the Day of the Dead, I crocheted my first ever solo yarn bomb

Using the techniques I learned working on a crochet mural of Nina Simone under the tutelage and inspiration of the crocheter known as Olek, I crocheted sixteen 12"x 12" crochet panels and assembled them into a crochet version of a Day of the Dead skull.

It was exciting, it was empowering, and I ran out of time to fully decorate it.

Day of the Dead 2019

This year, I decided to get a head start on the holiday and make some flowers to staple onto the original yarn bomb once I have it up. Using a pattern for a crochet flower that a good friend had shared with me, I got a start only to find that the flower was too small.

In fact, there weren’t really any patterns for a flower the size I needed, so I decided I had best design my own, and when all was said and done, I had a flower that measures 12"

A bright orange crochet flower for a Day of the Dead crochet yarn bomb
A large crochet flower to appliqué onto a crochet yarn bomb

--

--

Leslie Stahlhut
Free Crochet Patterns and Tutorials

Crocheter on a mission to make the world a better place — one stitch at a time. Twitter: @crochetbug. Crochet blog: https://www.crochetbug.com