THE AFGHAN THAT ELUDED ME

Square C-2

A granny square in eight rounds and eight rows

Leslie Stahlhut
Free Crochet Patterns and Tutorials
4 min readJul 27, 2019

--

I love what I think of as the “C Squares” from the Better Homes and Gardens Granny Square Sampler, and of the five “C Squares” C-2 is my favorite:

A crochet granny square worked in eight center rounds and eight rows for each crochet triangle corner
Square C-2

While I like them all, any crochet pattern is essentially a crafting map that you can follow, and that map allows you to know what another person was thinking. As you use your hooks and yarn to recreate what they created, you do, to some extent, experience the world as someone else experienced it, with their thoughts running through your head, and I am open to the possibility that as that other person’s thoughts are running through my head, I just might be able to see the world in the same way if only for a moment.

Then there is the matter of a quality I think of as “flair.” Each crochet pattern has a personality all it’s own, so while Square C-2 has a lot in common with it’s cousin, Square C-1:

it’s a little bit different and that difference is reflected in the mood each square creates. Square C-1…

--

--

Leslie Stahlhut
Free Crochet Patterns and Tutorials

Crocheter on a mission to make the world a better place — one stitch at a time. Twitter: @crochetbug. Crochet blog: https://www.crochetbug.com