Announcing a New Medium Pub: “Free Factor”

A home for eloquent and articulate thought without borders

Colby Hess
Free Factor
Published in
9 min readDec 1, 2023

--

Sumerian cuneiform symbol “ama-gi” meaning “freedom”
Part of the cuneiform symbol “ama-gi” meaning “freedom.” (Public Domain) via Wikimedia Commons

Hello, fellow Medium writers!

I’m excited to announce the launch of my new publication, Free Factor, and with it, a call for contributors and submissions. (More on that below.)

But first, what is Free Factor?

The interesting bits

What I envision for this pub is a place where diverse thinkers can express their unique ideas and takes on a wide variety of subjects, ranging from science and philosophy, to history, politics, and societal critique of all kinds.

If you have well-researched, well-reasoned, and well-written commentary on any of these subjects, this is the place for you.

I’m open to pieces representing all perspectives — irrespective of my own feelings or stance on any given subject. I truly believe a major problem with the modern zeitgeist is its obsession with diverse “identities” at the expense of diverse viewpoints. (You can read my take on it here.)

I want to celebrate the latter. It’s only through the free and open sharing and discussion of ideas that society can ever hope to advance beyond petty tribalism and endless strife, whether over issues profound or trivial…

--

--

Colby Hess
Free Factor

Freelance writer, photographer, and explorer of reality. Author of the freethinker children’s book "The Stranger of Wigglesworth."