Letter from Özlem Dalkıran

Özlem sent a message to human rights community on August 24, 2017. Below is the English translation of her letter.

From the moment we got detained, we have been able to stand strong without faltering thanks to the extraordinary solidarity of the human rights community in the country and abroad. After all, we have never lost faith in ourselves, in what we do and in our struggle for human rights; but the fact that you have stood by us has helped us to be even more resolute in prison.

This absurd situation we find ourselves in cannot compel me to give up the struggle for rights or doubt myself. As [renowned author and journalist] Ilhan Selçuk said, every person chisels their own sculpture; it turns out that I was meant to chisel some of the twists and twines of mine in here.

Hrant’s friends!

I have missed our long discussions, our breakfasts together, our vigils for justice at the Çaglayan courthouse. As soon as I am free, I will be by your side.

I have been saying this right from the start, let me repeat.
So glad you exist.
So glad we exist.
For law, for justice, and for human rights…

Özlem Dalkıran

Silivri Kapalı Ceza İnfaz Kurumu
9 No’lu Cezaevi
C 2/12 Semizkumlar Mah. Çanta Cad.
No: 162/888 Silivri — İstanbul / TÜRKİYE

--

--