My Students, My Heart

April Brown
Free Spirit Learning
2 min readJan 28, 2017

never underestimate the power of a teacher

This evening my husband, daughter, and I were enjoying dinner at one of our favorite restaurants. Our waiter ended up being a student I used to teach when I first arrived in our village four years ago.

I spent my student teaching & teaching career traveling around to so many different schools and working with so many different kiddos, I’ve never had the chance to see one of my students turn from a child into a young adult.

He greeted me with, “Good evening Miss April” and I knew he recognized me, but I still wasn’t sure that he remembered me and the time I spent teaching him. After all, it was only for the span of less than a year.

Before we finished dinner I decided to ask him.

“Do you remember me?”

“Of course, Miss April, I could never forget you.”

My heart skipped a beat.

“Because I was so awful?”

We all laughed.

He walked away.

This year marks the first year in a decade where I haven’t been working with students. Instead, I’m home raising my daughter which is the most fruitful and beautiful blessing I could ask for. For this I am grateful.

Tonight brought back “that spark” that only a teacher knows. That fire when you connect. When you impact. When you see the totality and wholeness within your community of learners. When you realize that THIS, this is what life is all about. Exploring together & seeking truth. Being honest & openhearted. Exuding love.

Each and every one of my students has left a mark on my heart. They are my heart. To them I am also grateful.

To all of you brilliant educators. Never stop the good fight. You are making a difference. You are changing the world.

And they WILL remember you.

--

--

April Brown
Free Spirit Learning

Innovative educator (M.Ed) & believer of inclusive teaching, human rights, social justice https://aprillorrainebrownblog.com