Andrea Cornejo and “FEST 15”

Eric Emma
Free The Story
Published in
3 min readJan 11, 2017

Happy New Year! As we enter 2017 we’re finding a ton of interesting people doing all kinds of exciting new things using the Verse platform. So we’re highlighting content creators that have used Verse to tell amazing stories. Up first: Andrea Cornejo, staff photographer for The Gainesville Sun, who used Verse to create “FEST 15”, a look inside a local underground musical festival using Verse’s Q&A tool to create interactive conversations with the folks who lived it.

Hey Andrea, could you tell us a little bit about yourself and the projects you work on?

I’m a staff photographer for The Gainesville Sun as well as a journalism student for the University of Florida. For the most part, I enjoy working on documentary projects that focus on the human condition, but I’m also fond of covering events that make a community unique.

Was your plan always to use an interactive narrative to tell this particular story?

I used Verse to create an interactive narrative of a naturally episodic event in order to offer the viewer a greater understanding to the many sides of an annual music festival. Rather than producing a traditional overview of the festival, I wanted viewers to experience it through the different sides of FEST, including the people that travel thousands of miles for it.

What possibilities did Verse provide your work?

Through Verse, I was able to include interviews that I typically would not have room for and was able to create a project with unexpected threads that truly helped encapsulate what FEST is all about. I used these multimedia tools to arrange my content in easy-to-navigate chapters that allows viewers to weave through the story at their own pace. I plan to use this method again with my next project.

Why did you choose Verse?

I was worried about creating a video that was too long and prone to lose viewers’ attention, but I often felt that my work was incomplete in traditional narratives. Thus, I chose to use Verse because it allowed me to go beyond the traditional online formats, which often led to underdeveloped content. I hope to continue using Verse to create immersive multimedia experiences that go beyond what normal video experiences can offer.

https://verse.com/stories/1062-fest-15/ced-francoeur

What advice would you give to other Verse users?

Before anything else, I would highly suggest for users to watch the free webinars provided by Verse. These online conferences not only demonstrate all the tools it offers, but it also guides users step-by-step through the process. I would also suggest using hotspots to offer viewers a chance to weave through the story as well as the Q & A tool for those crucial interviews, which often can’t be used due to time limits of traditional narratives.

Thanks a bunch, Andrea! We look forward to your next amazing project! You can learn more about Andrea and what she’s working on at http://www.andreacornejo.com/.

Like us on facebook or follow us on twitter to find out more information about weekly webinars and other exciting news regarding VERSE! Free The Story!

--

--