I Met My Boyfriend 6 Months Ago, Now I’m Pregnant

The unspoken rules of pregnancy in our modern society

Tori Nauer
Freethinkr

--

Photo by 🇸🇮 Janko Ferlič on Unsplash

It’s funny how things work out sometimes. After years of being single, working as a nanny, and dreaming of my own family in the distant future, 2022 started with a bang, almost literally!

In the first week of January, I met my now boyfriend (and spoiler alert, future baby daddy) by literally colliding with him and his skateboard in the main street of our small Mexican beach town. From here things moved fast, by February we were living together, working in each other’s businesses, and in May after feeling very strange for a few weeks, we discovered why!

Of course, this is where the real fun began!

I’d always believed that things would move fast and align in great leaps and bounds when I was ready, but now I realize that you never fully feel ready for the greatest challenges and rewards that life sends you.

Balancing a relatively new relationship, communicating in a second language (Spanish- my boyfriend is Argentinian), and dealing with the first trimester of pregnancy has been one of my greatest life challenges to date! Society warns you of morning sickness and fatigue, but not enough people are talking about raging hormones, mood swings, anxiety, social pressures, and…

--

--

Tori Nauer
Freethinkr

Women’s empowerment coach, world nomad and mumma-to-be ❤Sharing my alternative pregnancy journey to inspire change and growth!