You Can Still ‘Buy’ an Asian Mail-Order Bride on the Internet

The power brokers in the mail order bride industry are making it easier for foreign abusers and predators to find victims in Asia

Jason Weiland
Freethinkr

--

Lucy Lo on Mixkit.co

When I met my future wife on an Asian dating site, I didn’t know anything about the mail-order bride industry. In fact, up until a few weeks ago, I proudly told my success story of finding someone online who would love me despite being a broken man with nothing to offer.

I didn’t know I was elitist and racist when I said I couldn’t find a partner because women in America have standards I couldn’t meet — and decided that a woman from a culturally-different and poorer country like the Philippines would be more willing to give me a chance at love.

I didn’t know that these international online marriage brokerage (IMB) firms were operating against the wishes and laws of the Philippine and other governments. But, they were able to continue making tons of money because they run them from the U.S. and other western countries. These governments ignore the laws of these developing countries.

I didn’t know that even though I had a success story, many of these unions end in disaster. Many of the women in these situations are subject to the will and whim of the man…

--

--

Jason Weiland
Freethinkr

Personal essays and articles from a guy who never tires of writing about his life - jasonweiland.substack.com