Running as a transportation mode

Arnaud BRETON
Free your mind, run the world
4 min readJun 10, 2014

--

Arnaud is an amateur runner for about 4 years. He has completed several half-marathon (1:37:41 PR), 10k (44:07 PR) and his first marathon in Paris (3:55:55, you can find his story here) this year.
He runs with passion for all the opportunities that running has to offer.

This blogpost was originally posted on the Jogg.in’s blog.

When experiencing an urban way of live, find room for sport activities is a real challenge. Many of us experience a static life, seat behind a desk for at least 8 hours and with countless tentations to bring us away from physical activities.

As painful as our first sessions were (see below, mine were particularly!), in the end we all experienced this great feeling after a good one! For some of us, the sensation quickly became a soft addiction.
We now need to get our endorphin fix at least 3 times a week.

My first running goal: climb the Polytechnic stairs, and continue for at least 20-25 minutes after. Took me couple of weeks to achieve!

In addition to that, we’re all busy people, with a tight schedule which leaves few room for pleasure.
Summer is now coming and days are longer which makes things easier but it’s still hard to motivate ourself on a regular basis.

Fortunately, Jogg.in helps a lot when it comes to find motivation! Running in group is one of the most powerful way to motivate yourself and meet great people in the same time. It’s a great opportunity to push you hard and open your mind to something new!

Nevertheless, it’s still tricky to find enough time to join these groups and with the summer ahead of us, I personally don’t really enjoy being in the subway while commuting home.

In my case, this is as time consuming as running (about 45 minutes). Since I know that I will run at least 2-3 times per week, it’s a real opportunity for me to be able to do combine something I have to do (commuting home) and something I enjoy.
Add to that, the beauty of Paris at sunset: you now have the perfect combo!

Champs de Mars #Paris #running avec @jogginfr

Of course, it requires a little bit of organization: let your computer and the clothes your wore during the day at work, prepare your running stuff before leaving home, find a place to suit up, pay attention to your lunch and have some food ready to have enough fuel during your session (don’t forget the banana!).

Some runners (including me) are also not comfortable to run in a City, with cars, pollution and noise. If I have enough time, I prefer to take a longer road, to avoid them and run in a quieter place. I personally love the Seine’s banks, from Le Louvre to Pont du Garigliano.

My favorite route from work to home via the banks of the Seine

In the end, the overhead is still low and trust me, it worth it! I’m personally more comfortable while running in the evening (I’ve found that my perfect time is around 7:30~8PM, have you find yours?).
If you’re a morning runner, you will need showers at your offices (I was lucky enough to have one in my previous job).
If you’re lucky enough to live in or close from Paris you will a find a way to organize yourself!

I’m now also biking to work (about 30 minutes), the same way, when I’m resting / need to go faster. As physically tiring these activities are, taking the subway is now a painful thing!

Now take a minute to think about it: how many occasions you have to combine something you must do with something you’re enjoying? Plenty!

If you’re running in Paris, let me know! I would be more than happy to run with you on my regular route, from Grands Boulevard (I work at mention, a very cool startup located in Rue du Sentier) to Vanves (a small and nice city located at south of 15th district) where I live!

Feel free to share with us your experiences of managing your time to practice physical activities!

Want to learn more about my running habits? Continue with my story to the Paris’ Marathon finish line this year

--

--

Arnaud BRETON
Free your mind, run the world

Keep being amazed by the #World. Always. Head of Product at Sqreen.