Documenting the Journey from Bio to Sales to Development

Alan Grinberg
freeCodeCamp Seattle
2 min readMar 28, 2018
From the fog to clarity!

Well hello there, Medium! After much pondering, I’ve decided to take the advice of my fellow developers and Seattle friends and start blogging on Medium. This is the start of a journey that started a couple years ago in fits and starts (more than I’d like to admit).

To give everyone a bit of background, my journey started back in 2014 upon graduating with a B.S. in Biology with goals of becoming a doctor or someone in the healthcare field. I was always interested in the latest gadgets and technology but the guidance wasn’t there back in 2010 that the magic of the web and technology would really start to gain a foothold in the Bay Area. It was when I got back from UC Santa Cruz to San Francisco that I learned that so much had happened and changed since I set out for college.

I want to use this as a space to map my journey to a new career. This career switch stems from that love of technology mentioned earlier. Front end web development brings together my passions for great design, creative thinking and problem solving, as well as a desire to create applications and products people will love using. I feel blessed to be in the Seattle area during this time as well. Nowhere have I found a more helpful, friendly, and inviting community of people in the same boat as myself. Meetups, Coding events, hackathons, and even online in Slack groups, folks are helping each other out and providing a place for growth and reflection.

I hope that some of my writing and posts will help whoever else is out there realize that they can always pursue what they want to do for their careers or just in life. With some hard work, I hope that some months down the road, I’ll be proudly able to say I finally achieved my goals: a job in the industry and a rewarding community that I can call home.

Follow the my journey, posts, and other interesting tidbits over on Twitter (Alan Grinberg) and let’s connect on LinkedIn as well at http://linkedin.com/in/alagrin92.

--

--

Alan Grinberg
freeCodeCamp Seattle

Software Engineer at General Motors. Over 5 years in tech and sales. Passionate about technology, health, fitness, and the finer things in life.