Adventure traveler Dani Bradford shares her unique journey to a freelance career

CloudPeeps
Freedom Creators
Published in
3 min readOct 7, 2016

For the latest in our Freedom Creators stories, we chatted with Peep Dani Bradford about her unique journey into freelancing. Dani lives an exciting life as an adventure traveler and often gets paid for it, working with some of the world’s leading nature and travel brands including National Geographic, Under Armour, and USA Today. Learn more about her story below!

How and why did you get into freelancing?

I love the freedom of freelancing, and the ability for quality control by working directly with clients to make sure they’re happy with the end product. I’m also an adventure traveler, and I couldn’t work a 9–5 job and trek through the jungle in the Amazon so…

What’s been your proudest personal moment so far?

My proudest moment was working on a short freelance project last year with National Geographic, before I starting working with them regularly. It was a three-week contract where I had to develop three distinct identities to brand hundreds of different types of programs across the society. It was stressful in the best way, with a tight deadline, but it was such a great group of people I was able to work with and we turned out a great product.

How do you stay motivated and productive when flying solo?

It’s easier for me to be motivated when flying solo because I always feel like I’m able to do good work and keep the client happy. I’m always at my best when I have the freedom to design my own workday and work from wherever I choose.

I think everyone is always at their best when able to do what they love, and when I freelance, I’m able to combine my love of travel and experiencing new things every day along with doing my best work for client.

What’s the hardest part about being an indie worker?

The hardest part is not being in a room with a group of other creative people. I miss the banter and the inevitable gifs and design-oriented articles emailed around daily. I also miss group fro-yo runs as an afternoon pick-me-up.

What advice do you have for others taking the leap?

You can do it! It’s different and may be hard, but you can do it. Work hard, always be open to opportunities that come your way, and think critically every day about the work you want to be doing, and the kind of life you want.

“Think critically every day about the work you want to be doing, and the kind of life you want.”

Where can we find you?

You can connect with me through my CloudPeeps Storefront!

If you’d like to share your Freedom Creator story, follow the above question format then submit it to the publication for review. 👊

--

--

CloudPeeps
Freedom Creators

CloudPeeps empowers freelancers and businesses to do to their best work. Enjoy freedom to work the way you want, wherever you are. ☕️ https://www.cloudpeeps.com