Is Inflation Coming Back? The Bold Moves of the Big Short Investor

A.Z.
Freedom Finance
Published in
4 min readJun 21, 2024

--

Christian Bale as Michael Burry, The Big Short (Paramount UK)

Just when you thought it was safe to ignore your portfolio, Michael Burry drops a bombshell 13F filing that’s impossible to ignore.

You may have seen Michael Burry in the news again recently. Why, you ask? He filed his latest 13F, giving us a behind-the-scenes look at his stock portfolio shenanigans. While Burry is known for his quarterly changes, making it difficult to pinpoint his thought process, this latest filing is a bit different. Two big themes stand out, and believe me, they are worth the gossip.

Michael Burry, or Big Short Investor as he is better known, is one of my anchors in the market. Unlike the old geezers who are long-term value investors, following him allows me to take a short-term view of the market. If you don’t know Burry, please watch The Big Short right now, trust me. Now back to the topic.

Gold Rush 2.0

Burry is playing musical chairs with stocks again. He sold 14 companies, including big names like Google, Amazon and Oracle. He added 11 positions and made five entirely new purchases. The real head-turner is his investment in the Sprott Physical Gold Trust. That’s right, gold. Burry bought over 440,000 shares, making up 7.37% of his US portfolio.

--

--

A.Z.
Freedom Finance

I like to write about what I read and what I watch. But mostly, my Financial Freedom.