Why Am I Living in a Van

People living in a van is not as uncommon as you might think.

Rasheed Hooda
Freedom Lifestyle

--

Photo by Ivan Moncada on Unsplash

I’ve been living in a van since the summer of 2011. That makes it eight and a half years, as of this writing. I wasn’t expecting it to come about as it did, but it was more or less a foregone conclusion.

Earlier in our marriage, my wife and I used to talk about traveling around and making a living on the road. However, we never took the initiative to make it happen.

Then we had kids and life got busy. We took an occasional family trip to places like the Niagara Falls and the Yellowstone National Park, but the dream of a perpetual life on the road never manifested.

Unfulfilled dreams and desires have a way of creating a rift between couples. We weren’t an exception. We grew more and more apart and at some point verbalized the possibility of going our separate ways once the children go off to college.

Neither one of us had thought that it would happen a month before the youngest one started college, but it did. There is no sense in pointing fingers as to whose fault it was. There is an old saying from India that says; “You can’t clap with one hand.” Enough said.

I moved into my Kia Sedona van and started my life of living in a van. I took out the back seats, and a foam…

--

--

Rasheed Hooda
Freedom Lifestyle

Self-proclaimed weirdo. Jack of Many Trades, Master of Some. Author, Speaker, Photographer. He walked on Route 66 Chicago to L.A. https://ko-fi.com/misterweirdo