Young gifted and black

Numb & Number
Freedom Of Thought
Published in
5 min readJun 23, 2020
“In the whole world you know
There are billions of boys and girls
Who are young, gifted and black,
And that’s a fact”

There is nothing like a non sequiter to get the cortical neuronal synapses discharging.

What if everything was free?

Most people believe in religion, a lot more believe in money.

Both systems rely on belief along with a lot of other things around us for example belief in politicians, clergy, scientists and doctors to name few.

Now let’s do a little thought experiment here. I am not going to ask you to prove or disprove the existence of God or a cream cake in orbit around planet X. Neither am I going to ask you to sit on Einstein’s train and travel at the speed of light nor ponder whether in earth’s supposed time span of 4.5 billion years that a more developed and sophisticated society existed that cannot be evidenced as they were super recyclers and what evidence there ever was is now so deeply subducted and transmutated in the bowels that it will never be found. No, these are too abstract too hard for mere mortals like us.

I’m asking you to do something a lot simpler.

I am asking you to imagine if everything was free. This is now highly possible, as we are not at the end of history or anywhere even near it. We have developed structures and systems for this very enablement. We are at the beginning.

Will it lead to societal collapse or will we progress towards a better world? Would we see cooperation for the global good or continue to enhance our controllers and our selfish lives? Would we we have wide scale anarchy and lawlessness or would we see the establishment of a new order based on egalitarianism, altruism and well being? Would we finally take the first faltering steps to joined up thinking?

Here is the my thought experiment results and benefits it may bring:

End to poverty and starvation

End of poor health

Reduction in crime

Reduction in pollution

Reduction in waste

Increase in recycling

Increase in and a better education

To me the benefits are endless.

Aha you say what a joke, nobody would want to work or do the menial jobs. Sorry but we are hardwired to work, it is our salvation our redemption our defining differentiation from the beast. I for one and hopefully the rest of us would be happy to work in this new model. This presumes that most people are good and not as being; as put about on the woo woo woo, a collective of throat slitters who would rape your granny.

“For evil to succeed, all it takes is for the good to do nothing”, while the mute majority sit on the fence spectators in a game that can only be a low grade war, and some times goes ballistic shooting a few of them off their perch and to take sides.

I couldn’t possibly eat or drink more than I already do. Truth be told I am overindulgent but even I could not take for takings sake.

I would be happy to sweep the roads and pick up litter or even clean public toilets in such a society. I would hopefully be able to choose my work, my vocation, whether it be the preceding or tending to a fruit farm or even only helping harvesting for us.

There are going to be a lot of objectors. Everybody would want to live in a fine country estate with hundreds of acres by the sea. I wouldn’t as I can’t swim and like to be my own slave, I refuse to take advantage of others in the nuvo economics. All I want is a safe secure comfortable environment, it does not take to include ownership of a super yacht.

I think a lot of us have been scared into submission and this fear is passed on genetically along the generations. No dream time for us and too much of “The Lord of the Flies” nuanced Freudian types getting funding. There is nothing like fear to captivate docility.

I tried the Einstein thought experiment and never got beyond Berne: the infinite mass wouldn’t let me move any further, the mental inertia was overwhelming, but I do believe that the cost free world would equally slow down time. We would suddenly have more of it.

I must admit I lied about the non sequiter bit because in such a system, the blacks would be free. As would the browns, yellow, oranges, olives and let’s not forget the whites. There might even be a few less racist retards.

Take a step up from barter, seashells and reinsurance. Engage a higher gear. Less work more time. Enjoy your chosen work. If it does not feel like work at all, time stands still or slows.

What’s your thought experiment?

--

--