The Strength to Carry On.

Yousef Balboul
Freeformers-Academy
3 min readSep 20, 2017

How your focusing on your strengths can help you find yourself.

What are your strengths? Is a common question at interviews that people either love or hate. Some people know themselves as people that they can quite confidently answer the question. Whilst others who do not know themselves as much might attempt but not quite answer the question. But why is that the case? Shouldn’t it be easier to know what you’re good at and what you are your weaknesses?

It is not hard to know what your strengths are but rather its hard to find what they are from inside of you(Well that was the case for me). Learning about this new tool of Strengthscope has been just want I needed. Strengthscope is a online tool certified by the British Psychological Association and asks you a variety of questions about you to find out what type of person you are and where your strengths lie. After you have finished the survey you then get a chance to send an email to others to assess your strengths and add some comments.

Areas are split into four areas emotional , relational , thinking and execution. Most of my strengths came from emotional and relational which means my strengths come from emotions and relationships. The strengths included enthusiasm , emotional control (on the emotional side) and on the relational side it included compassion , developing others and empathy on the thinking and execution side I only had two strengths which were strategic thinking and self improvement and empathy.

When I first looked at this all I wanted to know is what is the purpose of this? and I immediately focused on my weaknesses such as indecisiveness. I was wondering whether there was a way to make me more decisive. I thought focusing on that might affect my strengths. But this was not the point the point was feeling happy in my strengths and focusing on them rather than the weaknesses. I could actually use my strengths to overcome my weaknesses. So to become more decisive I could use my strategic mindset to focus on the future, make sure that I have a goal to strive to and utilize relationships in order to surround myself with good people in order to get to that would then make me more decisive as a person.

It has also enabled me to focus on what I want to do in the life. It has driven me to find what really matters in life and have a purpose in helping those in need and disadvantaged and make as much difference as I can. I thrive on helping others by coaching and sharing opportunities so they can experience and gain the most fruits in life. In order to do that you need to understand your strengths in order to get the most out of life and Strengthscope is the tool to help you do that.

To find out more about Strengthscope here is a link below — https://www.strengthscope.com/

--

--