How To Beat SELF DOUBT, And STOP Selling Yourself Short

This Stake in the Ground Represents Five Years of Self-Doubt

Wayne Mullins
Agency Accelerator
Published in
3 min readJul 3, 2023

--

I’m going to let you in on a little secret today.

It’s a big one, it’s personal, and it’s slightly uncomfortable, but I’m hoping it might just help someone else out there who might be wrestling with the same issues.

Five years ago, my partner Heather and I were on the verge of making a significant change, and it was that looming decision that stirred up a world of self-doubt within me.

A doubt that most of us are familiar with, even if we hate admitting it.

When I started thinking about buying a new house with Heather, I was immediately drawn into a whirlpool of questions that were much less about floor plans and property taxes, and more about self-worth and capability.

Was I capable of taking this step? Was I “worthy” of owning a nicer house, of having a bit more land to my name?

These questions began to consume my thoughts.

They made me wonder if my ambitions were getting the best of me, making me seem ungrateful for what I already had.

It’s a difficult thing to admit, but that’s the reality of it.

Just like many of you, Heather and I went through the motions, scouring the internet for potential homes, looking for something that ticked off the boxes on our list.

Our requirements weren’t outrageously extravagant. We weren’t looking for a mansion or a palatial estate, just a home on a few acres of land.

We wanted space to breathe, to live, and to grow.

The thing is, the price tag for what we were looking for was a little more than we’d ever paid for a house.

But we pushed on, and with every house that we shortlisted, the whispers of self-doubt grew louder in my mind.

I think we’ve all had these moments, haven’t we?

We’ve all set goals, and envisioned dreams, only to be haunted by these nagging thoughts of self-doubt. Am I deserving of my dreams? Can I really achieve them?

Fast forward a year into our house-hunting adventure, and the self-doubt hadn’t subsided. We shifted our focus.

Instead of looking for a house, we decided to find some land, a blank canvas where we could paint our dream house.

After another year of relentless searching, we found it. A 14-acre tract of land right in the heart of Pineville.

It was just about everything we could have wished for — expansive, and beautiful, with a sandy creek weaving its way through it.

The catch? It was way, way over our budget. So much so that it cost more than our current home.

When Heather told me about the property, my initial reaction was to dismiss it outright.

Why? Not because it wasn’t perfect — it was — but because I didn’t believe I was deserving of it.

You see, despite this land being the physical manifestation of a long-held dream, I didn’t think I was worthy of it. And so, I dismissed it.

But we kept looking, and after several months of fruitless searching, we decided to revisit the Pineville property. That was three years ago.

Fast forward to today, and that piece of land, once a symbol of my self-doubt, now has stakes in the ground marking where our house will stand.

This journey has been a long one, filled with self-doubt, second-guessing, and internal battles about self-worth.

But if there’s anything I’ve learned from this experience, it’s that self-doubt shouldn’t be a barrier to your dreams. It’s okay to question yourself, to challenge your worthiness. But never let it steal your dreams.

You’re given dreams for a reason. They’re yours to pursue, to achieve. Don’t allow self-doubt to stand in the way.

Remember, you’re as worthy as anyone else. Your dreams are valid, and you’re more than capable of making them a reality.

So, push through the doubts, seize your dreams, and make them your reality.

Peace and love,

Wayne

--

--

Wayne Mullins
Agency Accelerator

I help freelancers and agency owners build the business they deserve. Here's how 👉 linktr.ee/fireyourself