Skill Tester #2–Build a hut!

Matt Cooper
Freelance Design, UI/UX & Identity Design
1 min readMay 7, 2020

My second project in Skill Testers

A bit of a life challenge this one was and it brought me to the great outdoors. It’s something I’ve always wanted to do but never got round to it… build a hut!

Me and my partner always had the idea of building one, on one of our friends’ private woods. We decided to get my daughters involved too as they’re 7 and 8 and love the outdoors! Real bonding time! … and of course any excuse to climb trees!

Check out the result below! I reckon we did a pretty good job! That’s one ticked off the bucket list for me!..Oh and we also managed to build a mini bridge! Yay!

Tools Used: Utility Knife, Lots of Sticks, Mini Shovel, Tarpaulin, Garden Wire and a Hatchet.

p.s. We did actually put a Tarpaulin over the hut at one point lol

This was so awesome to do. I always love spending time with my kiddies and fiancé! Another outdoor skill learnt! Bear Grylls eat your heart out! ha!

No woodland creatures were harmed in the making of this hut… although, I personally almost broke my knee 😆

--

--