Need to know How to Improve Your Writing? – Here’s How

Some small tips to boost your earnings!

Georgia Smart
Freelance Express
4 min readMar 28, 2024

--

Photo by Fausto García-Menéndez on Unsplash

When I started on Medium I wrote an article on structure, but I feel like I need the reminder of what to focus on again. Here’s more information that I would like to share with you about the structure that will boost your earnings.

I have tried out a couple of structures, and seen many done by many writers. I take myself out of the picture and look at others’ work.

When seeing their writing I am the reader and I like to see if the structure makes an impact on what I read, and it definitely does.

Here is how I structure my work for the best earnings

Title

Photo by Kelly Sikkema on Unsplash

A strong title needs to be the device pulling readers into your article. As they can not read your work without the title enticing them in.

This is the most important part of your article and should be developed after the article.

Instead of starting with writing the title, why not write it at the end? In the end, you might have taken your writing on a different journey to how the title structures it to be in.

You could see the potential for a better title to stand you out from that online crowd.

Paragraphs

Photo by Finn Mund on Unsplash

Always be sure to take notice of your paragraphs, as let’s be honest who is going to want to read a huge paragraph?

Short and sweet little snippets of your writing will keep people reading as they feel they are not chained into a massive paragraph where they are losing focus.

Spreading out your work benefits the reader and it does to you, as you can clearly see in each paragraph what your point is.

You can easily do this with this tip, as some people out there including myself when I started didn’t know this. Split up a paragraph after long sentences, a change in topic or opinion, and after you feel you have written enough about one thing.

Layout

Photo by Hal Gatewood on Unsplash

Choosing a layout you are happy with is important to follow. I tried a few and the one I am most successful with I will share.

Imagine a text with no structure, just a load of words thrown at a page in no order, confusing and overwhelming you. This isn’t what we want.

Here is my structure:

  • Title
  • Subtitle
  • Picture
  • Information about what the posts going to include
  • A couple of points
  • Quote or bullet point list to focus the reader’s attention
  • Small recap of points
  • A thank you to the readers and a suggestion to clap and support ( this is just a little personal touch I try to include)

I also usually include a little photo at the end of my articles just as a finishing goodbye! It’s great to find something personal to you to brand your writing.

At the end of my article, I always end with a happy face! It’s my little trademark and one I hope people remember me by!

Question your work

Photo by Emily Morter on Unsplash

Once you have written your work, read it back. Read it back as if you are a reader and know nothing about the topic. Take time to then ask questions about your work.

  • Does it make sense?
  • Do I understand the point of the article?
  • Is it well structured and is the grammar correct?
  • Did I enjoy the read?

This can help you be able to change and improve your work, to make it the best work you can produce. Which would theoretically improve your stats.

You

Photo by Etty Fidele on Unsplash

I hope you have learned something new reading this and please let me know in the comments if this article has been useful!

Thank you for all your support and thank you for reading :)

--

--

Georgia Smart
Freelance Express

Writing about my personal growth, writing tips, motivation and living a healthy lifestyle :)