What is a Blog?

You’ve heard the word, what exactly is it and how can you use it?

Meg Stewart
Freelance Ladder

--

Photo by bruce mars on Unsplash

I’m a writer but that is about the extent of my creative bone. My mom, on the other hand, is a pretty amazing artist. Growing up as a young child, I remember her painting beautifully with watercolors and acrylics. Bob Ross was a frequent visitor to our home via the miracle of television.

The walls in our home were adorned with mom’s creations. A bulletin board made of punched copper, a piece of tree stump painted with a winter scene, etc. She taught me to embroider, to knit, and to quilt, although these skills didn’t stick with me long.

Artists aren’t always very tech-savvy.

When I suggested to my mom a couple of weeks ago that she could sell her art and other creations online using a blog, an email list, and a website, she balked.

“I don’t even really know how to use an email list. And I don’t even really know what a blog is. Besides, I don’t want to make 100 widgets. That’s so boring.” Our conversation turned to other things.

But later as I thought about it, I decided that it was unfair that not knowing how to use software and navigate the internet was an obstacle to earning a living after retirement.

--

--

Meg Stewart
Freelance Ladder

writer, author, freelancer, Freelance Filter founder, single mom of four, grammi of 10. Get in touch at solutionsbystewart@gmail.com