Where to Learn the Skills You Need to Become a Freelance Writer

And how to make yourself more valuable to clients

Meg Stewart
8 min readFeb 17, 2020

I’ve always been a skill hoarder. For as long as I can remember, I’ve taught myself how to do things I didn’t know how to do. In the brick and mortar world I learned skills just so I could teach someone else how to do something they needed to do.

In my early days as a freelance writer, I wrote about anything and everything, including parenting, maple syrup, wood burning stoves, patio lighting, juicing machines, and the ancient wonders of the world. I would learn as much as I could about a topic and then write about it. I even ghostwrote an e-book on marriage for a client in Australia, though I myself, had never been married.

Many of my early freelance writing clients wanted articles structured a specific way. They insisted on short sentences, specific word counts between subheadings, and use of specific words or phrases in certain places throughout the article.

I didn’t know why at first, I just gave them what they wanted. As it turned out, I was learning how to write on-page search engine optimized (SEO) content, I just didn’t know it then.

As soon I discovered the reason behind their strange content requirements, I wanted to learn all I could about…

--

--

Meg Stewart

writer, author, freelancer, Freelance Filter founder, single mom of four, grammi of 10. Get in touch at solutionsbystewart@gmail.com