3 Tough Lessons After 6 Months of Freelance Writing

What I’ve learned after quitting my ‘normal’ job

Alexander Boswell
Freelancer’s Hub

--

Photo by Faizur Rehman on Unsplash

Click, click, click, sip, click, make an annoyed face, click some more, make notes, click, get more coffee, sanitize my hands, click... If you repeat those actions long enough, you’ll have a pretty good idea of my experience working in a 9–5 office during a global pandemic.

There I was, in August 2020, sitting at my desk with yet another (pretty terrible) coffee and the lunch I could only eat at my desk, with the same thoughts running through my head.

“If I could dedicate all of my working hours to writing, what could I achieve? Would I even be able to support myself financially? Would I enjoy it?”

You’ve probably had those thoughts a few times yourself.

There was a permanent job opening at the place I was working (as a temp), which I had applied and interviewed for, but these thoughts were nagging me like a small child at my leg. I couldn’t put them off any longer, so after making sure I’d saved up enough to support myself another two months, I withdrew my application and handed in a resignation notice instead.

I know you might be wondering, “why the heck would you reject a stable job during such a crazy time?”

--

--

Alexander Boswell
Freelancer’s Hub

Founder of SaaSOCIATE, a content marketing agency or MarTech, AdTech, and eCommerce SaaS businesses | Business PhD Candidate | He/Him | saasociate.com