Freelancing

From Burnout to Freelancing: How COVID-19 Changed My Career Path

Navigating burnout recovery and embracing new paths toward work-life balance

David Loewen
Freelancer’s Hub
Published in
7 min readJan 23, 2023

--

Illustration by Author

Do you have good strategies for ensuring you don’t burnout?

I often suck at it. I’ve been through it a few times. Most recently while working in healthcare during the global pandemic.

The emotional and physical toll of working in healthcare administration during the COVID-19 pandemic led to my burnout and ultimately to embrace freelancing as a new career path.

The freelancing shift is fantastic. The burnout sucks.

As the COVID pandemic was declared, I was a healthcare administrator leading a relatively small team that served a massive geographic area — largely rural in Western Canada. I was on the front lines of pandemic emergency planning and response. We had to “plan” in an environment that changed daily, and sometimes hourly. Constantly adapting to new guidelines, protocols, and COVID outbreaks.

Like many in the sector, the emotional and physical toll of the pandemic ultimately led to my burnout. It didn’t help matters that I was also in the midst of completing a doctorate degree in education. I defended a dissertation focusing on…

--

--

David Loewen
Freelancer’s Hub

Building digital writing businesses from scratch | Thinker, Writer, Educator | Doctor of Education | Co-founder Humanity Academy | https://www.boxcutter.co/